

The FGU -

more than just a university



### The FGU at a glance





- The FGU is a network of 210 affiliated member universities from Germany, France and third countries.
- Founded in 1997 by means of an intergovernmental agreement (Weimar Agreement)
- Administrative HQ in Saarbrucken, Germany



#### What is the FGU?



- The FGU is a network of more than 200 affiliated member universities from Germany, France and other countries.
- The FGU was established in 1997 as an international institution following an intergovernmental agreement (the Weimar Agreement).
- FGU'administrative HQ is located in Saarbrücken, Germany

### **Key figures**



universities in Germany and France, as well as in other partner countries

194



bi-national courses (bachelor/master level) in over 20 fields of study

5,810



students currently enrolled

25,000



graduates since our foundation

**550** 



bi- and tri-national post-docs

## ... a huge selection at all levels

Université franco-allemande Deutsch-Französische Hochschule

- Bachelor's and Master's level: Integrated study programmes (bi- and tri-national) with double degrees
- PhD: programmes to promote early career researchers (PhD tracks, doctoral programmes, jointly supervised dissertations (cotutelles de these), scientific events)



# The FGU network for junior researchers



√ 34 Franco-German Graduate Schools, among them 14 with partners in other countries (e.g. Switzerland, Australia, Italy)

- √ 7 PhD-track programmes
- ✓ nearly 300 PhD candidates supported each year
- √ over 550 completed Cotutelles de thèse procedures
- √ 91 Scientific Events for Junior Researchers in 2023

